Southaven High School Students Participate in Youth Legislature

Written by: Tim Gardner, Southaven High teacher and Government Club Sponsor

Members of the Southaven High School Government Club traveled to the State Capitol in Jackson to participate in the Mississippi Youth Legislature Conference.  These students spent 4 days presenting, debating, and voting on legislation.  Two Southaven bills made it all the way to the Youth Governor’s Desk.  Congratulations to Baili Zhong, Ryan Hopson, Ashlyn Cox, and Eva Jeter for getting your bills through Congress.  Also Congratulations to Sarah Moncrief, who received a distinguished Senator award for the quality of her debate.  These Students represented SHS and Desoto County very well.